tuneskasce.blogg.se

How much was a black wurlitzer spinet piano in 1949
How much was a black wurlitzer spinet piano in 1949













I GUARANTEE that the time you spend will give you valuable insight as to what your piano value may be, and help you decide whether or not the piano has enough value to warrant paying for an appraisal.

#How much was a black wurlitzer spinet piano in 1949 professional#

YOU WILL NEED TO GATHER THIS INFORMATION in order to properly describe the piano to a potential buyer or professional Piano Appraiser whether the Piano has value or not. Quick Start: Click on the type of piano you are researching or continue reading below. This Virtual Piano Appraisal is designed for those of you who would like to know the approximate value of your piano. Information - Concerts, News,FAQs, Archives. Organs - Electronic (B3 etc.), Pipe, Theatre. Who's Who - Professional Pianists on Piano World Member Recordings - Non Classical Pianist CornerĮVENTS! Piano Concerts, Recitals, Competitions.įun Stuff! - Parties, Tours, Projects & More.įorum Members Parties, Tours, Cruises, & M. MY NEW PIANO or KEYBOARD! - Share Your Story! Otherwise, though, I'd guess most pianists would tend to regard Wurlitzer as an entry-level brand for the undiscerning and prejudge it to be mediocre—and that's where Baldwin's marketing strategy eludes me.įor what it's worth, the Wurlitzer name got a mention today on the Discovery Channel program Cash Cab it was the answer to a question about the jukebox model known as the "bubbler."ĭigital Pianos - Electronic Pianos - Synths &a. Lots of us with personal experience have some fond associations with Wurlitzer, just as some people do with Lester pianos and even the Betsy Ross model. When I suggested earlier that the Wurlitzer name lacks cachet among pianists, this more-or-less predictable reaction is just what I meant. I thought they both sounded OK but the performers seemed to prefer the Walton.I honestly think that reflects a bias against the brand—for better or worse, and for whatever reason. They were otherwise identical pianos down to red "W" logos on their soundboards. Actually, the black one was labeled "Wurlitzer" on the fallboard and the other natural wood one was labeled "Walton". I just recorded a pair of new Wurlitzer baby grands last week. (Of course, no one would accuse Baldwin of making smart business decisions in recent decades, but that's a topic for a different thread.)īased on my limited knowledge and experience, my advice concerning Wurlitzer pianos is: Be open-minded, but approach with caution. It most certainly does not, and this would seem to represent a vastly different strategy from Baldwin's similar acquisition of the Chickering marque. I know nothing at all of the Baldwin-era Wurlitzers, and I'm perplexed at Baldwin's acquisition and marketing of the Wurlitzer brand as though it has some kind of cachet in the piano world. I'd rate this piano as fairly mediocre, though I didn't hate it. I later learned, though, that Wurlitzer is not one of the "golden age" piano brands that most people would consider worth rebuilding in the first place. I had imagined that if Wurlitzer made such astounding theater organs back then, their pianos must have been pretty good, too. (This is, admittedly, like comparing McDonald's and Burger King we're sure not talking cordon bleu here!)ĭuring one of my "returnee" periods as an adult, I played a rebuilt Wurlitzer grand from, I believe, the 1920s. I thought it compared favorably with the ancient Kimball upright, and then 60s-era Kimball console, that I'd played previously as a kid. I wouldn't credit that piano for the quantum leap that my technique took in my teen years, but it didn't seem to have held me back. I played a 1960s-era Wurlitzer spinet for several years when I was a teenager, and it was not awful. If you went into the kinds of small music stores that were then a common part of the commercial landscape, you expected to find these brands alongside Lowrey organs. When I was growing up in the 1960s, Wurlitzer and Kimball seemed to dominate the middle-class American market for smaller pianos of a modest (yet acceptable) quality level at an affordable price point.













How much was a black wurlitzer spinet piano in 1949